What’s in a Name?

Okay, so I did in fact read the beta invite correctly, I will be able to play as an Imperial in the up coming beta. With that in mind I do have a possible background for my next character in ESO. What I don’t have is a name. I normally have no real issues coming up with names but this time I am just kind of drawing a blank. I have been trying for the last few hours to come up with some interesting names. What I typically do is a baby name search for different cultures of the world, find one that fits the personality of the character I am making and tweak the spelling a bit. I don’t really think I can do that for this go around because, well I don’t have a set personality for the next character. In fact I don’t even know if it will be male of female.

So I am going to leave it to you, my faithful and creative readers. I need names. For both genders, first and last names and their possible meanings. For example, the name “Zander” is Greek for defender of the people, and his last name “Bearach” is Gaelic for spear, or javelin. I look forward to see what you all come up with.

About Pyrelle

I am married to a wonderful woman. I enjoy video games and have been playing MMO and RPG based games for over 14 years. I enjoy writing and drawing, never considered myself good at it either. Dispite having a degree in graphic design I have never used it.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What’s in a Name?

  1. wilvarin1980 says:

    Names:
    Male:
    Adrian – black, dark. People with this name tend to be idealistic, highly imaginative, intuitive, and spiritual.
    Darius – Rich; wealthy. People with this name have a deep inner desire for order and physical creativity, and want to be involved in conventional, safe activities.
    Falco (my personal favorite) – related to falconry. People with this name have a deep inner need for quiet, and a desire to understand and analyze the world they live in, and to learn the deeper truths.
    Gaius – lord, an earthly man. People with this name tend to be creative and excellent at expressing themselves. They are drawn to the arts, and often enjoy life immensely.
    Garrus – strong, noble.
    Lucan, Lucien – light. People with this name tend to look for harmony and balance in their lives, and respond positively to beautiful things.
    Marius – dedicated to Mars, hammer. People with this name tend to be passionate, compassionate, intuitive, romantic, and to have magnetic personalities.
    Zenon – friendly. People with this name have a deep inner desire to inspire others in a higher cause, and to share their own strongly held views on spiritual matters.

    Female:
    Anora – light. People with this name tend to be a powerful force to all whose lives they touch. They are capable, charismatic leaders who often undertake large endeavors with great success.
    Aurora – dawn.
    Flavia – blond
    Livia – olive. People with this name would rather focus on large, important issues, and delegate the details.
    Lorraine – sea gull. People with this name have a deep inner desire to create and express themselves, often in public speaking, acting, writing or singing.
    Peregrina – wanderer. People with this name are often the center of attention, and enjoy careers that put them in the limelight. They tend to become involved in many different activities, and are sometimes reckless with both their energies and with money.
    Lucia – light. People with this name tend to initiate events, to be leaders rather than followers, with powerful personalities.
    Selena – moon goddess. People with this name tend to be quiet, cooperative, considerate, sympathetic to others, adaptable, balanced and sometimes shy.
    Sibylla – prophetess, oracle. People with this name are competent, practical, and often obtain great power and wealth. They tend to be successful in business and commercial affairs, and are able to achieve great material dreams.

    I’ll look into family names a bit later, after I make dinner 🙂

      • wilvarin1980 says:

        And here are some family names for you =)
        Aelius – “sun”
        Albus – “white, bright”
        Aurelius – “golden”
        Avitus – “ancestral”
        Celsus – “tall”
        Cornelius – “horn”
        Horatius – “time, season”
        Julius – “downy-bearded”
        Livius/Livanius – “blue”
        Marianus – “of the sea”
        Petronius – “yokel”
        Prisca – “ancient”
        Sergius – “servant”
        Severus – “stern”
        Valerius – “strong, noble”

        Those ending at -us are male forms, for female they end at -a (eg. Alba) or -na (eg.Severina)

      • Pyrelle says:

        awesome, this gives me a lot to think for my next character.

  2. M: Acacius (not evil) Luzi
    M: Ceyx (kingfisher) Mathesius

    F: Livia (bluish) Faber
    F: Scylla (tear and rend) Apian

    I liked Acacius because I thought the name “not evil” was sort of hilarious in the context of a fantasy universe. Ceyx because kingfishers are bright and blue, pretty little birds.

    Livia, not for the meaning just because I think “Livia Santori” sounds like a character. But Scylla, tear and rend, that’s a warrior’s name, yes?

    I’ll come up with more. I love naming things.

  3. Wow, I’m glad Elspeth and Wilvarin came up with stuff, because I was drawing a big blank!

  4. Lulzy says:

    Hi Pyrelle darlin’! I finally figured out how to add friends in ESO (big ole MMORPG noob here) so can I add you?

Leave a Reply

