Inside the Characters Studio (Day 6)

Welcome to “Inside the Character Studio” please give a warm welcome to our host; Mr. Jim Brisk! 

(applause)

Thank you… thank you. Today we will resume our exploration in the mind of Zander Bearach. For the last five days we have taken a voyage through the thoughts of out subject, Zander. We have uncovered some of his past and we will continue on our path of Zander enlightenment, next on “Inside the Characters Studio”.

Path of Zander enlightenment? Really? You sound like a crazy preacher in a large white tent who isn’t allowed in town. Who the hell writes your intro? Reverend Herp Uh Derp?

No, but it is funny you should mention Religion.

It is? Why? No wait, I don’t want to know.

Too bad because today is all about finding out your thoughts on spirituality and religion.

Well I am sorry Jim but I was always taught that you don’t discuss religion or politics with friends.

You don’t have to worry about that.

I don’t?

Nope.

Why?

Simple, we aren’t friends, now tells us what are your thoughts on god.

Did you really just say that.

I regretted it the second it left my mouth.

As it should.

That doesn’t change the topic. What are your thoughts on spirituality and religion.

You are like a dog with a bone.

I know, now answer the fucking question.

Wow, you kiss your mother with that mouth.

Sure do, now stop stalling.

Fine. Well I was raised by my uncle to believe in the nine divines, and that no matter what the mass murdering fuck heads of the Aldmeri Dominion say Talos is a God! It is my belief that there were always Nine divines, even before Talos.

How do you figure there have always been Nine Divines?

Simple, Lorkhan or, Shor as he is known in Skyrim was the Ninth Divine, until his “Death”. According to legend, Lorkhan died long ago, giving his life to help create Nirn. He is the only Aedra besides Akatosh to appear in every known mythology on Nirn. He is often referred to as the hero of mankind. This is why I say that their were always Nine Divines, and since Lorkhan gave his life to create Nirn leaving a vacancy in the pantheon it had to be filled. This is what allowed Talos, who is also known as a hero of man, to ascend to divinity upon his death, thus filling the roll of the Ninth Divine.

Interesting yes but, there is a lot of debate of Lorkhan.

Only if you are an Altmer really. Since they view Lorkhan as “The Trickster” believing that he tricked the other Aedra into giving up their divinity, which they claim include the Ehlnofey, the descendants of mer and man, to create Nirn. They believe they are the direct descendants of the Aldmer, or the pure mer, it is because of this belief that they blame Lorkhan, the hero of man, for their mortality, thus they do not recognize him as a Divine. Since it was Tiber Septim, the hero of man, who conquered all of Tamriel, including the Altmer, creating the third empire, they also resent and denounce his ascension to divinity taking his place as the Ninth Divine becoming Talos. The Altmer know damn well that Tiber Septim ascended into godhood. They just can not fathom, and their arrogance will not allow them to accept anyone who is not an Altmer being able to ascend to divinity.

How do you know that they know Talos is a god?

Easy, there has never been any dispute over anything from the Oblivion Crisis in 3E 433.

I’m not sure I follow.

Of course you don’t.

What is that supposed to mean?

It means you are a trained monkey with a microphone.

That was uncalled for.

I beg to differ that was very called for.

Well, I think you are stalling because you can’t explain your point.

Fine, I will explain.

Please do.

The Oblivion Crisis happened in 3E 433.

We all know that.

But everyone likes to forget how the Champion of Cyrodiil managed to retrieve the Amulet of Kings by using the blood of a divine.

Huh?

*FACE PALM* Okay, I will speak slowly and use small words just for you. The blood needed to open the portal to Mankar Camoran’s Paradise was a blood of a divine. The blood used was from Tiber Septim’s armor, the only known existing Divine artifact, which means that Tiber Septim did in fact become a god. Now I am willing to bet had Tiber Septim been an Altmer, there would be no ban on Talos worship and the Aldmeri Dominion would probably view Talos to be an even greater god than Akatosh.

H-How do you know these things?

It is common knowledge for anyone who knows how to read, or did any kind of schooling.

I must have been sick that day…

Or you are just a moron with a microphone. 

*glare* You do know that what you are saying goes against the White-Gold Concordat.

Oh I know. I also know that everything I just said goes against the entirety of the Aldmeri Dominion. But they have no right to tell me, or anyone else what or who to believe in. They think that just because they believe one thing the whole world needs to be good little sheep and believe it too. They have never respected the cultures of the other races because they believe themselves better than everyone, and if you disagree with them on anything they will kill you. Don’t believe me? Ask the Bosmer why they are nearly extinct. The Altmer are a blight on this world and the only thing that kept them in line was the Septim Dynasty. They feared the Septim bloodline because of the connection to Akatosh it held. When that was gone, they felt they could do whatever they damn well pleased.

I see, so you are saying you believe in Talos.

No. I was merely stating my thoughts on whether or not there are Eight or Nine Divines. Did you just not listen to anything I was saying?

To be honest, not really. I tend not to pay much attention to the rambling rants of a mad man.

I hate you. I hate you so very much right now. Look I believe in the Nine. I think that they are present in all things. I do not feel I need to worship at a temple but that I can connect with them at any time I need them. I believe they gave up some of themselves to give us Nirn and keep us safe.

I see.

Do you? Do you really?

Not in the slightest.

I don’t know why I bother.

I don’t either. But that is all the time we have for today.

Thank the Nine! *leaves quickly*

I hope you will join us again tomorrow when we continue our 28 Days of Character Development where we will take another probing look at Zander, right here on “Inside the Characters Studio”. I am you host Jim Brisk saying, “Keep your friends close and don’t pick their nose.”. Good night every body!

Yay! I managed to get another one in on time. I hope you all enjoyed it. I need more questions for Zander, I am not getting many in and I would definitely like more. I enjoy reading them and getting Zander to answer them is fun too.  So keep those questions coming and remember to use the form below to send in your questions for Zander if you are shy. If you are not shy than just leave the question or a comment in the comment section located below the form. Thank you.

About Pyrelle

I am married to a wonderful woman. I enjoy video games and have been playing MMO and RPG based games for over 14 years. I enjoy writing and drawing, never considered myself good at it either. Dispite having a degree in graphic design I have never used it.
Gallery | This entry was posted in 28 Days of Character Development and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Inside the Characters Studio (Day 6)

  1. kitdoctor says:

    “…now tells us what are your thoughts on god.”

    Was this an undercover Dishwalla reference?

    I thought Zander had some very insightful points about the Nine. Furthermore, you have a very impressive understanding of the lore. I confess I’ve never really been into the Elder Scrolls lore, so never bothered reading more about it. Although, I probably should have, because it would have made these exercises easier thus far.

  2. I loved this so much. It’s so exciting to see Zander get all passionate. Also, I was pleasantly surprised to see that he had such extensive knowledge on religion. Excellent!

  3. Writing Jobs says:

    That was an excellent post today. Thanks so much for sharing it. I
    really enjoyed reading it very much. I’ll be sure to pass it along to others.

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today

    Writing Jobs Available – Writers Wanted

  4. Lulzy says:

    Q 1: We all know Zander hates the Empire. But how does he view the Stormcloaks? Lesser of two evils, right premise wrong execution, nutcases, Ulfy is a god (*gags*), etc…

    Q 2: Play Fuck Marry Kill. Your choice on candidates, but I think Zander would enjoy this game (and by that I mean be traumatized). Love you forever if the choices aren’t obvious one way or another.

    Q 3: Describe Zander’s ideal mate.

    Q 4: Would Zander have a favorite TV Show/Movie if such things existed in Skyrim? (THIS IS NOT A TRIVIAL QUESTION, DAMMIT. I want to overanalyze his choices a la Freud. :O)

Leave a Reply

