Frustration!

So I wanted to tweak the blog, clean it up some and condense what is a ton of links maybe even find a way to do drop down menus for the link sections. Well I go into the Widget area and I try to do some changes. Well apparently something has gone batshit crazy with my theme because I can not drag and drop widgets like I used to. Let me rephrase that, I can drag them from the widget area to the Main sidebar area just fine, but I can not arrange them in the order I want, but I can not drag and drop them into any of the other areas like the Secondary sidebar area or the Footer areas. Well isn’t that just a kick in the teeth. So I do what any sane person does I look up my issue on the support forums, three hours later I find no answers.

So I stop and give my brain some rest, and come up with an idea. I will just switch to my second choice in Themes that will work right? Nope! Same deal. So I decide to let my brain rest again. Then it hits me, how can two themes be broken with the same issues in widgets, so I fire up Firefox and it works just fine. Ok great, I double-check my other browsers, yep Chrome works fine too so the issue is with IE9. I love IE9 I really do but it has some deep seeded issues with WordPress that Dr. Phil couldn’t even work out!

You may say well just use Chrome or Firefox, well damn it I don’t want to! I like IE9, don’t judge me. So I go through my plug-ins, nothing new has been added so why all the trouble? I clean my cache and cookies and still nothing. I finally just say F it and fix the blog back to its original state in Chrome. So my options at this point are keep using IE9 and just not update the look of my blog at all or use IE9 but use Chrome to change the look of my blog. This is what I get for wanting to make my blog look nice. I am frustrated and cranky now and the time I spent on this crap has taken away from my writing of Zanders next day which is due in a few days.

Oh, I almost forgot while checking other browsers I noticed I had some responses from comments I made on others blogs and my own that I didn’t get while on IE9. So there is that issue now too. This is just peachykeenrific!

If anyone else is having a similar problem and has fixed it, please let me know because I am the type of person who will not do anything else until I fix this craptasticness.

Thank you in advance.

About Pyrelle

I am married to a wonderful woman. I enjoy video games and have been playing MMO and RPG based games for over 14 years. I enjoy writing and drawing, never considered myself good at it either. Dispite having a degree in graphic design I have never used it.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Frustration!

  1. I am about to embark on a major blog reorganization project. Of course, now I’m scared to.

  2. And to be fair, I freak out a little every time I try to mess with my blog. But it has to happen.

    • Pyrelle says:

      This is true. I am just upset because I HAD a great idea and concept of what I wanted to do but now because I am so frustrated I can’t for the life of me remember what it was.

      • I hate when that happens. I just need to consider organizing my chapters better. I think I am going to end Book One soon. However, it’s not just enough for me to say. Okay, “Book One endeth here” and go on. It’s forcing me to take stock of what has happened over the past 35 chapters thematically and going forward, what I hope to accomplish within my new structure. You know, what will happen–thematically–in Book Two. I have some ideas but it’s sort of daunting. But it’s also daunting to imagine writing the way I am now.

      • Pyrelle says:

        You’re doing a good job of it. I have no idea how to honestly end a book knowing there will be a second book. I mean if it were just oen book you would tie up all the loose ends but when you know there will be a sequel you need to leave some loose ends. I guess you tie the main loose end? Or make it seem like the main loose end is tied when it is not? I dunno but I have faith in your ability. =)

      • I just feel like I’m coming to a good breaking point, considering it’s fan fiction and everything. It might not be where I would break if it were original, but it could work here. We’ll see. : )

      • Pyrelle says:

        Well I have a crazy way of looking at things. To me Fanfics are in fact “origional” Do you use some things from the game? Sure but the story is completely yours. Therefore you should be able to end it just like you would any fiction book right?

      • Probably. But it’s hard to imagine because I wouldn’t end part one of this story without say, more foreshadowing of some of the bigger, future story lines. But since (mostly) everyone who is reading knows what might (or what could) happen, I don’t really feel compelled to drop lots of dragonborn hints and foreshadowing.

      • Pyrelle says:

        Well, I suppose that is true but I feel you as the Author should do what you feel is best for your story and what would make your story better. But that is just my opinion =)

      • : )

        Right now it just feels like never ending insanity. I’m hoping that breaking it up will help me get a handle on things.

        Now I’m going to watch my favorite Buffy episodes for inspiration.

      • Pyrelle says:

        Is it the one where Willow Turns Evil because her love gets shot, and she flays a guy alive? Cause that one is one of my favorites! As for your story, you have to remember it is your story, you dictate when it is complete. =)

      • No, but I am watching Season Six. I’m thinking about watching Tabula Rasa, which is when they lose their memories.

        And I’ve already written the last scene of my story. I just didn’t realize how long it would take me to get there.

      • Pyrelle says:

        Good episode! It is not the distance it is the journey. =)

      • bannog says:

        Since I can’t seem to respond to Elspethaurilie, dropping my tuppence worth in here.

        I’ve just set up a new blog for my new adventures in Steampunk (not linking it yet as it’s empty). From the onset, I wanted it to host a series of books. I don’t feel ready yet to submit any of my stuff to bona fide publishers, but I want to move on from fanfic to original stuff.
        I’ve always had my story chapters in pages and announcements and general witterings in posts. With the new blog, I’ve set WordPress (Under Settings – Reading) to display a page as a front page, rather than the posts. So when people enter, they see a front page. I have three pages: “The Adventure Starts Here”, “Expedition Reports”, and “News”.
        “The adventure…” is the home page, essentially the blurb for the series of books (yes, ambitious I know).
        “Expedition reports” is where I will make a list of all the books – currently only one, the Work In Progress. For each book, I’ll make one page and set “Expedition reports” as its parent page. Then, I’ll make a page for each chapter and add that to the book. With the “Quintus” theme, that gives me a drop-down menu at the top of the page with books and chapters. I still need to figure out how I’ll add “Next” and “previous” links to each chapter, but it will probably end up being hand work.
        The “News” page is empty, and I think it is only used to provide a title for the “Posts” page.
        I’m not using any widgets at all. They would probably interfere with the “Classic” feel of the place. So, anyway, that’s how I’m going to do it.

      • Pyrelle says:

        Interesting.

  3. calumtravler says:

    I say that, if it comes down to it, you should use Chrome for editing layouts and design, and stick to what you know works (IE9) for the everyday posting stuff. 🙂

    • Pyrelle says:

      It might very well come to that. I just hate having to use two seperate browsers for things like that. Thank you for the feedback. 🙂

  4. “I like IE9, don’t judge me.”

    Too late.

  5. But really, Chrome is so much better.

    • Pyrelle says:

      And yet it will not save many of my passwords on many pages, causing me to remember some 20 passwords…

      • 201bones says:

        i get this problem on WordPress,Every time i post a comment (like this 1) it asks me for my password,i check the box that says “save password” and it dosent give a turd,it just asks again when i post a new comment…(seems to not happen when i reply to comments on my own blog though…)

  6. 201bones says:

    Ok,Now it seems to want to remember my password…

  7. lo zin says:

    Yeck… frustrating! I have that trouble on my iPad. I can add the elements but not alter or move them around. I assumed it was a flash problem.

  8. kitdoctor says:

    I’m judging you. I hope by now you’ve abandoned that archaic browser and opted for literally any other browser. Sometimes, you just have to make the switch. I used firefox from 2006-2012, and I started having more and more issues with it, (one or two of them actually with wordpress) so I Downloaded Chrome to use occasionally. I eventually came to love Chrome, even though I was a die-hard Mozilla fan, and no longer use firefox anymore.

Leave a Reply

